ED appoints advisory board to save struggling economy


    HARARE-Zimbabwe’s president Emmerson Mnangagwa has appointed a 24 member advisory board to help his ailing administration. The board composes of industry, financial, infrastructure, health and development experts.

    Since replacing Mugabe in November 2017, Mnangagwa has struggled to steer the economy in the right direction while social cohesion has drastically gravitated southwards.

    Inflation has gone up from 3% to 42% while the parallel exchange rate has worsened with the local money RTGS/Bond losing at least 60% in value in value between 2017 and 2019.

    The country’s money supply which has been instrumental in driving inflation has soared from $7 billion to $10 billion as government continued to pump treasury bills to save its bloated fiscus.

    The external trade position has worsened from a balance of -$1.8 billion in 2017 to -$2.4 billion in 2018 which shows a growing import bill overtaking exports growth.

    Government ambitiously targets to attain an upper middle income status by 2030 which implies a per capita income of $3500. This would demand a per annum growth rate of at least 7% over the next 12 years a far cry from the present growth levels and the negative direction the aggregate is taking.

    Below is the President’s 24 member advisory team as announced on Wednesday, one of the appointees has since turned down the offer.

     Busisa Moyo. – URL CEO

    Divine Ndhlukula. – Securico Founder/ CEO

    Joe Mutizwa. – Corporate expert, Former CEO Delta Corp

    Zondo Sakala. – CE IDBZ

    Lewis Maxwell Musasike

    Dr Norbert Mugwagwa

    Dr Godfrey Sikipa

    Remigius Makumbe

    Simbarashe Mangwengwende

    Dr Lindiwe Sibanda

    Aenias Chuma

    Edwin Manikai

    Sam Malaba. -CE Agribank

    Professor Kuzvinetsa Nzvimbo

    Natalie Jabangwe. – MD Ecocash

    Trevor Ncube – Chairman AMH

    Janah Ncube – Oxfam Director

    Dr Shingi Munyeza – Former CE African Sun

    Dr Kenneth Mtata -ZCC President

    Simon Hammond – CABS CE

    Richard Wilde. -Ex CBZ Board Chair, Ex RBZ Dep governor

    Kudakwashe Tagwirei. -Founder Sakunda Holdings

    Prof. Robson Mafot. – CEO SIRDC

    Mfaro Moyo – UNDP Resident Rep


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here